Adler & Hearne and Howlin’ Dog Records Announce New Release

July 26, 2022

The Ties That Bind Us

Album Release August 12, 2022

Howlin’ Dog Records is excited to announce a new release from the well-known veteran east Texas folk duo Adler & Hearne, titled The Ties That Bind Us. The album will be released August 12, 2022.

Don Richmond, producer of The Ties That Bind Us says: "Fresh from the verdant piney woods of Northeast Texas, and the beautiful Goolsby's Pool where they have their cabin home, Lynn Adler and Lindy Hearne have a new crop of songs from their Song Farm, and we at Howlin' Dog Records are thrilled to be able to help send them out into the world! Their songs are lovingly crafted and beautifully played, and full of the warmth and heart that anyone who meets Lynn and Lindy immediately feel. The songs display many facets and aspects of The Ties That Bind Us – the love, connections, interactions and challenges we all feel in our varied and complex lives. There is also a beautiful kindness and compassion in the window on the world these 14 beautiful songs offer, that is so comforting in our lives today. One of the highest compliments I can say about good music and good art, is that it makes you feel glad to be alive. These songs remind me of the glory and goodness in the world, and the wonder and mystery of it all.”

The album begins with the title cut  "The Ties That Bind Us" a mid-tempo ballad of memories and connection to home followed by "Sweet Texas Songs" a soaring homage to nature and mystery of stories and music that spring from water, wind and legends surrounding the duo’s East Texas piney woods home. Then we move into "Let’s Do It" a breezy love song about taking a chance on love. We get a classic folk song vibe with "Come Harvest Time" (featuring cousin and Santa Fe icon Bill Hearne) then a tender bluegrass ballad laced with treasured hymn lines and titles with "Standin' Next To Mama." Then travel west with "River of Wind" where the song’s rider roves and rambles, and "Snakeskin" a slithering, spaghetti Western of a song. "Just When I Got To Know You" honors the memory of a dear friend who has moved on, and "Heart Of The Country" tells of folk legends. Commenting on the world "I've Been Here Before" is a dreamy floating ode to throwing caution to the wind, jumping into your boat and pushing off from the shore and "It’s Summer And We’re Burning" is a wildfire cautionary tale about our planet (environmentally speaking; politically too). The "Long Slow Drive features Eliza Gilkyson on vocals in a bare bones song about giving yourself some grace while grieving takes its time. We close with the meditative "Wayfaring Stranger" and the reassuring lift of "O Angels Are Coming."

Adler & Hearne’s music is a signature blend of original folk with deep Texas roots. With 13+ recordings and decades of touring between them, the couple’s repertoire is playful, poignant and poetic – including sparky love ballads, historically based tributes, quirky story songs, and anthems of justice and peace. Raised by musical families and nurtured by music ensembles through college, the husband-and-wife duo met in Nashville, and now pay it forward together in performances from listening-room venues, festivals and community events to churches, libraries, schools and house concerts. Lynn co-wrote the theme song for the hit PBS children’s TV series Wishbone. Her diverse writing background brings added experience to the duo's workshops and presentations. Lindy sang in the famed Texas Boys Choir as a child, and for several years he and his band were Roy Clark’s backup group performing with Roy from Las Vegas to Hee Haw to Carnegie Hall. 

Adler & Hearne’s songs share a common bond with the human experience of us all. The vibe of their shows is a thoughtful balance: equal parts campfire song circle and concert hall polish, punctuated with humor and spirit. The two pride themselves on their multigenerational audience appeal. In June 2014, the duo was honored by the Texas Commission on the Arts, being named to the state’s official Texas Touring Roster – an honor they’re pleased to continue to enjoy through August of 2024. 

For tour dates and more info go to 

“Duets done well are extraordinary musical creations. Duets showcase individual voices, but in their finest moments, they merge two voices that somehow create a third. The best examples include the Everly Brothers, Simon & Garfunkel, Tammy Wynette and George Jones. It’s a healing experience to hear such a duo as Adler & Hearne. In their case, two voices are better than one…”

- Michael Granberry (Dallas Morning News)

"Since a young age I was exposed to Lynn and Lindy's music, and attended a songwriter's workshop they hosted where I learned some great songwriting techniques. They are salt of the earth people with many years of songwriting experience and great harmonies"

- Kacey Musgraves

Track list - 

  1. The Ties That Bind Us 3:05
  2. Sweet Texas Songs 4:12
  3. Let's Do It 2:28
  4. Come Harvest Time 3:41
  5. Standin' Next To Mama 3:43
  6. River Of Wind 3:21
  7. Snakeskin 4:02
  8. Just When I Got to Know You 2:48
  9. Heart of the Country 3:44
  10. I've Been Here Before 3:52
  11. It's Summer And We're Burning 3:52
  12. Long Slow Drive 3:38
  13. Wayfaring Stranger 2:52
  14. O Angels Are Coming 3:28

Contacts -

Press: Heather Kilgore

Radio: Erik Balkey 

Booking: Lynn Adler 

Get the CDGet the mp3