Eliza Gilkyson Media Assets

A combination of gravity and grace… Her writing is poetry, something that most songwriters strive for but not so many actually achieve. The strength of her lyrics and music help set the work apart.”  ~ Buddy Magazine

Folk musician Eliza Gilkyson is pleased to announce her upcoming release “Songs From the River Wind” on the Howlin’ Dog Label due out in fall of 2021 and produced by Colorado multi-instrumentalist/producer Don Richmond. Featuring songs written about characters from her past and the lives and loves lost and found as she roamed the highways of the West “from the Brazos to the Badlands,” in her early years, this new collection is inspired by her having recently relocated to the mountains of northern New Mexico. Taking a little break from her usual socio-political stance in her music, Eliza wanted to stretch out and highlight a more character driven/storytelling approach to the songs. “This homecoming to New Mexico has filled me with joy, connecting me to my past and my deep abiding love of the Old West, as well as highlighting my desire to see those remnants of natural beauty and history preserved and honored. This recording is my love letter to the West.”

Eliza is a twice Grammy-nominated (2006/2015) singer-songwriter and activist who is one of the most respected musicians in Folk, Roots and Americana circles. Her songs have been covered by Joan Baez, Bob Geldof, The Conspirare Choir, Tom Rush and Rosanne Cash and have appeared in films, PBS specials and on prime-time TV.  A member of the Austin Music Hall of Fame, and an inductee into the Austin Songwriter Hall of Fame, she has won countless Folk Alliance and Austin Music awards, including 2014’s Songwriter of the Year.

Listen to "Songs From the River Wind" here.

Eliza’s last release, “2020", is a collection of songs that illuminates the emotional roller coaster ride of the year 2020, looking into the future to a world that is hopefully more just and sustainable.  Recently named the #1 Album of the Year on the 2020 FAI Folk Radio Music chart, the album features the political anthem "Peace in Our Hearts", which was written as a rallying cry to be sung at gatherings and marches, and was the winner of the “Song of the Year” Award at the Folk Alliance International Conference in 2021.

“Songs From the River Wind” will be released in early November and tour dates will be announced. Watch for the single “At the Foot of the Mountain” to be released in early October, written after Eliza bought her 100 year old rambling hacienda which sits at the base of the Sangre De Cristo mountain range in Taos.

 “The Irish poet George Moore said a man travels the world over in search of what he needs and returns home to find it.The same can be said for this woman, a wanderer who loved the road and the music life but who was always hoping to find her true home in the world. This record is the story of that quest, the lives and loves, the people and places in my beloved West, and the river of longing that brought me to the place where I could finally hang up my spurs, rest my bones and feel with certainty that I was home.”

Eliza Gilkyson

Go to http://elizagilkyson.com for updates.


1. Wanderin

2. Buffalo Gals

3. Farthest End

4. Charlie Moore

5. Wind River and You

6. Colorado Trail

7. The Hill Behind This Town

8. Bristlecone Pine

9. Before the Great River Was Tamed

10. At the Foot of The Mountain

11. Don’t Stop Loving Me

12. Taoseña Lullaby

13. CM Schottische